Students in class

Automotive Technology

Certificate

PURPOSE: The curriculum is designed to meet the need for educated automotive technicians in all areas of the automotive industry. The program will provide students with experience in the maintenance and repair of a wide variety of automobiles, as well as light to medium duty trucks. Program graduates will receive instruction in the basic skills and sufficient hands-on experience to be able to apply that learning to practical, everyday shop situations.

OCCUPATIONAL OBJECTIVES: Auto Mechanic, State Safety Inspector, Service Advisor, Maintenance Technician, Parts Clerk, and Service Writer

ADMISSION REQUIREMENTS: General college curricular admission

PROGRAM NOTES: Students are required to meet with the program head either before registering for their first semester or early in their first semester of study.

COMPUTER COMPETENCY REQUIREMENT: Students in this program will meet the college’s computer competency requirement by successfully completing ITE 115. Students can also meet this requirement by successfully passing the college’s computer competency exam, administered in the testing centers on each campus, in which case they will receive college credit for ITE 115. Students not passing the computer competency exam may retake the exam only once.

GAINFUL EMPLOYMENT DISCLOSURE INFORMATION: Please see www.reynolds.edu/curriculum/Gainful%20Employment/GE_Info_902.aspx to access gainful employment disclosure information for this program.

COURSE

TITLE

LEC.
HRS.

LAB.
HRS.

CRS.
CRE.

WEL 120

Fundamentals of Welding

1

3

2

SDV 100

College Success Skills

1

0

1

AUT 111

Automotive Engines I

3

3

4

AUT 265

Automotive Braking Systems

2

3

3

AUT 241

Automotive Electricity I

2

3

3

ENG 111 or 
ENG 137

College Composition I or Communication Processes I

3

0

3

TOTAL

12

12

16

AUT 242

Automotive Electricity II

2

3

3

AUT 236

Automotive Climate Control

3

3

4

AUT 266

Automotive Alignment, Suspension, and Steering

1

6

3

___ ___1

General Education Elective

3

0

3

ITE 115

Introduction to Computer Applications and Concepts

3

0

3

TOTAL

12

12

16

Total Minimum Credits for Certificate in  Automotive Technology 32

03.11.15

1 A list of approved general education electives (humanities/fine arts, social/behavioral sciences, mathematics, science, and personal wellness) is provided in the General Education section of the catalog under Curriculum Planning and Design.

Name Program Email Phone
Lorenza Dickerson Automotive Technology C ldickerson@reynolds.edu 523-5445
William Jenkins Automotive Technology C wjenkins@reynolds.edu 523-5947
Lou Luchsinger  Automotive Technology C LLuchsinger@reynolds.edu 523- 5454
Michael Olson Automotive Technology C molson@reynolds.edu 523-5961
Lawrence Schwendeman Automotive Technology C lschwendeman@reynolds.edu 523-5938
Michael Trapani Automotive Technology C mtrapani@reynolds.edu 523-5940
Leslie Tyler Automotive Technology C ltyler@reynolds.edu 523-5433
©