Students in class

Automotive Maintenance and Light Repair

Career Studies Certificate

PURPOSE: This career studies certificate is designed to train individuals for employment in express service light repair and maintenance positions at dealerships and independent repair shops. The curriculum covers both theory and shop training with an emphasis on service and minor repair. As a result of instruction, students will be able to describe the purpose and function of each vehicle system and identify the parts involved and how they work. Additionally, students will learn how to perform basic diagnosis with the end goal of determining if a system is working as designed or if further service is required. 

OCCUPATIONAL OBJECTIVES: Auto Mechanic, Service Advisor, Maintenance Technician, Parts Clerk, and Service Writer 

ADMISSION REQUIREMENTS: General college curricular admission 

PROGRAM NOTES: Students are required to meet with the program head either before registering for their first semester or early in their first semester of study. 

COURSE

TITLE

LEC.
HRS.

LAB.
HRS.

CRS.
CRE.

AUT 101

Introduction to Automotive Systems

2

2

3

AUT 241

Automotive Electricity I

2

3

3

AUT 111

Automotive Engines I

3

3

4

AUT 265

Automotive Braking Systems

2

3

3

AUT 266

Automotive Alignment, Suspension, and Steering

1

6

3

TOTAL

10

17

16

Total Credits for Career Studies Certificate Automotive Maintenance and Light Repair

16

Name Program Email Phone
Lou Luchsinger Automotive Maintenance and Light Repair CS lluchsinger@reynolds.edu 523-5454
Lorenza Dickerson Automotive Maintenance and Light Repair CS ldickerson@reynolds.edu 523-5445
William Jenkins Automotive Maintenance and Light Repair CS wjenkins@reynolds.edu 523-5947
Michael Olson Automotive Maintenance and Light Repair CS molson@reynolds.edu 523-5961
Lawrence Schwendeman Automotive Maintenance and Light Repair CS lschwendeman@reynolds.edu 523-5938
Michael Trapani Automotive Maintenance and Light Repair CS mtrapani@reynolds.edu 523-5940
Leslie Tyler Automotive Maintenance and Light Repair CS ltyler@reynolds.edu 523-5433
©