Students in class

General Education

Certificate

PURPOSE: The General Education Certificate is designed to serve as an intermediate step toward the associate of arts or associate of science degree for students who plan to transfer to a four-year college or university. The curriculum provides students with a foundation in the general education core competency areas of communication, critical thinking, information literacy, cultural and social understanding, personal development, quantitative reasoning, and scientific reasoning.

First-time job seekers who come to their employers with basic writing, analytical reasoning, and computing skills find they can be more competitive in the job market and more valuable in the workplace. Counter and retail clerks, administrative support, social and human service assistants, and customer service positions, as well as a variety of other fields, require individuals to apply their entry-level knowledge and skills while exploring the world of work and relevant career opportunities. For those employees who wish to pursue their education, the general education certificate provides foundational courses that allow students to progress toward the associate degree or to transfer to a senior institution.

ADMISSION REQUIREMENTS: General college curricular admission

PROGRAM NOTES: This certificate is approximately equivalent to the first year of study in any one of Reynolds’ associate of arts or associate of science transfer degree programs. The associate degree is the gateway for transfer to a four-year college or university through one of many articulation and guaranteed admission agreements currently available to Reynolds students.

COURSE

TITLE

LEC.
HRS.

LAB.
HRS.

CRS.
CRE.

SDV 100

College Success Skills

1

0

1

ENG 111

College Composition I

3

0

3

___ ___1,2

Approved Transfer Mathematics

3

0

3

___ ___1

Humanities/Fine Arts Elective

3

0

3

___ ___1

Social/Behavioral Science Elective

3

0

3

__ ___1

Laboratory Science Elective

3

3

4

TOTAL

16

3

17

___ ___1

Humanities/Fine Arts Elective

3

0

3

CST 110
or 
ENG 112

Introduction to Speech Communication or College Composition II

3

0

3

___ ___1

Social/Behavioral Science Electives

6

0

6

___ ___1

Laboratory Science Elective

3

3

4

TOTAL

15

3

16

Total Minimum Credits for General Education Certificate 33

03.13.15

1 A list of approved general education electives (humanities/fine arts, social/behavioral sciences, mathematics, science, and personal wellness) is provided in the General Education section of the catalog under Curriculum Planning and Design. Courses on that list footnoted as “typically does not transfer” do not meet the electives requirements for this program.

2 Students should consult their advisor and transfer institution about which math course to take. Mathematics courses that will fulfill this requirement include MTH 163, MTH 166, MTH 170, MTH 151, and  MTH 173.

Name Program Email Phone
Beverly Aronowitz General Education C baronoitz@reynolds.edu 523-5610
Elizabeth Bensen-Barber General Education C ebensen-barber@reynolds.edu 523-5754
Eric Barna General Education C ebarna@reynolds.edu 523-5542
Ashley Bourne General Education C abourne@reynolds.edu 523-5170
Stephen Brandon General Education C sbrandon@reynolds.edu 523-5496
Michael Cline General Education C mcline@reynolds.edu 523-5503
Gayle D Andrea General Education C gdandrea@reynolds.edu 523-5497
Cynthia De Riemer General Education C cderiemer@reynolds.edu 523-5749
Thomas deMayo General Education C tdemayo@reynolds.edu 523-5918
Maria Espiritu General Education C mespiritu@reynolds.edu 523-5169
Douglas Gava General Education C dgava@reynolds.edu 523-5007
Atalissa Gilfoyle General Education C agilfoyle@reynolds.edu 523-5748
Wendy Gray General Education C wgray@reynolds.edu 523-5621
Barbara Lytton General Education C blytton@reynolds.edu 523-5253
Eric Hibbison General Education C ehibbison@reynolds.edu 523-5500
George Kugler General Education C gkugler@reynolds.edu 523-5746
Donna Levy General Education C dlevy@reynolds.edu 523-5944
Jason Lira General Education C jlira@reynolds.edu 523-5869
Nancy Morrison General Education C nmorison@reynolds.edu 523-5686
Carlos Ossandon General Education C cossandon@reynolds.edu 523-5609
Karen Pallay General Education C kpallay@reynolds.edu 523-5040
Linda Pinney General Education C lpinney@reynolds.edu 523-5744
Mark Plume General Education C mplume@reynolds.edu 523-5745
Glenda Potts General Education C gpotts@reynolds.edu 523-5920
Maria Ramos General Education C mramos@reynolds.edu 523-5601
Jane Rosecrans General Education C jrosecrans@reynolds.edu 523-5599
Jason Sampson General Education C jsampson@reynolds.edu 523-5504
Christopher C. Thomas General Education C ccthomas@reynolds.edu 523-5291
Joshua Watson General Education C jwatson@reynolds.edu 523-5295
Scott Weaver General Education C sweaver@reynolds.edu 523-5602
William Ziegler General Education C wziegler@reynolds.edu 523-5606
©