Students in class

Science

Associate of Science

SPECIALIZATIONS
Science
Computer Science
Mathematics
Mathematics and Science Teacher Preparation

PURPOSE: The associate degree in Science is intended for those who plan to transfer to a four-year college or university to complete a bachelor of science degree in the natural and physical sciences, mathematics, or computer science. There are four specializations in this degree program that enable students to complete courses that align with their intended majors at a four-year college or university.

The Science specialization is designed for persons who plan to transfer to a four-year college or university in a major that requires a background in the natural or physical sciences and mathematics. With the many advances taking place in all areas of science, the opportunities for persons with expertise in this area are rapidly increasing. This program provides the necessary training for transfer into a broad range of scientific fields, from botany to zoology and from chemistry or geology to physics. In addition, the Science specialization is designed to meet the requirements for admission to a professional school or upper-division major for career preparation in many of the medical professions including nursing, pharmacy, medicine, and veterinary medicine.

The Computer Science specialization is designed for persons who plan to transfer to a four-year college or university in a major that requires a background in the sciences, mathematics, and computer science. Student familiarity with or expertise in computer science is frequently a requirement for study in the disciplines of biology, chemistry, physics, science education, engineering, manufacturing, and related fields. This program will provide the opportunity to obtain this needed preparation. In this rapidly changing field, students should regularly meet with their advisor to keep up with course and curriculum updates.

The Mathematics specialization is designed for persons who plan to transfer to a four-year college or university in a major that requires a background in the sciences, mathematics, and computer science. The Mathematics specialization includes the courses usually required in the first two years of a baccalaureate degree program in mathematics.

The Mathematics and Science Teacher Preparation specialization is designed for persons who plan to transfer to a four-year college or university in a major that requires a background in the sciences and/or mathematics, and who plan to teach at the elementary, middle, or secondary school level. The Mathematics and Science Teacher Preparation specialization enables the student to participate in field experiences in area schools.

ADMISSION REQUIREMENTS: General college curricular admission

PROGRAM NOTES: The following high school units are strongly recommended for the Science specialization: four units of English, three units of college preparatory mathematics, one unit of laboratory science, and two units of foreign language.

The following high school units are strongly recommended for the Computer Science and Mathematics specializations: four units of English; four units of college preparatory mathematics, including algebra (two units), geometry and trigonometry (or advanced math); two units of laboratory science; and one unit of social studies. Students in the Computer Science and Mathematics specializations are urged to begin their programs of study during the fall semester because many courses are sequential and only offered once a year.

Students are encouraged to seek information from the upper-division college, university, or professional school to which transfer is intended as to specific requirements for a particular major or specific admission requirements.

NOTE TO PROSPECTIVE TEACHERS: Students who wish to be licensed to teach in Virginia should earn a baccalaureate degree in a liberal arts, science, or mathematics field. Students should consult with their advisor regarding elective choices that match their desired teaching endorsement area(s). While enrolled at the community college, students should prepare for and successfully complete Praxis Core (Reading, Writing, and Mathematics), the initial teacher licensure examination.

COMPUTER COMPETENCY REQUIREMENT: Students in this program will meet the college’s computer competency requirement by passing the computer competency exam, administered in the testing centers on each campus, or by completing CSC 155, Computer Concepts and Applications. Students not passing the computer competency exam for CSC 155 may retake the exam only once.

Science Specialization

COURSE

TITLE

LEC. 
HRS.

LAB.
HRS.

CRS.
CRE.

SDV 100

College Success Skills

1

0

1

ENG 111

College Composition I

3

0

3

______1,3

Approved Laboratory Science I

3

3

4

MTH 166 
or 
MTH 173
2

Precalculus with Trigonometry or 
Calculus with Analytic Geometry I

5

0

5

CSC___

Computer Science Elective

3-4

0

3-4

TOTAL

15-16

3

16-17

ENG 112

College Composition II

3

0

3

______1,3

Approved Laboratory Science II

3

3

4

MTH 240
or 
MTH 270
or 
MTH 173 
or 
MTH 174
2

Statistics
or 
Applied Calculus
or
Calculus with Analytic Geometry I
or
Calculus with Analytic Geometry II

3-5

0

3-5

______1

Social/Behavioral Science Elective

3

0

3

______1

Personal Wellness Elective

0-1

0-2

1

TOTAL

12-15

3-5

14-16

______1

Approved Mathematics, Laboratory Scienceor Computer Science Elective

3-5

0-3

3-5

______1,3

Approved Laboratory Science

3

3

4

HIS 101 
or 
HIS 121

History of Western Civilization I or 
United States History I

3

0

3

______1

Humanities/Fine Arts Elective

3

0

3

______1

Approved Elective

3

0

3

TOTAL

15-17

3-6

16-18

______1

Approved Mathematics or Laboratory Science Elective

3-5

0-3

3-5

______1,3

Approved Laboratory Science II

3

3

4

HIS 102 
or 
HIS 122

History of Western Civilization II or 
United States History II

3

0

3

______1

Humanities/Fine Arts Elective

3

0

3

______1

Approved Elective

3

0

3

TOTAL

15-17

3-6

16-18

Total Minimum Credits for AS Degree in  Science, Science Specialization 62

01.28.16

1 A list of approved general education electives (humanities/fine arts, social/behavioral sciences, mathematics, science, and personal wellness) is provided in the General Education section of the catalog under Curriculum Planning and Design.

2 MTH 173-174 are recommended for students planning to major in Physics or Chemistry. Students not prepared for MTH 173 may be required to take MTH 166 prior to taking MTH 173.

3 Approved Laboratory Science I and II should be a year-long laboratory science, e.g., BIO 101-102 and PHY 201-202.

 

CURRICULUM:
Computer Science Specialization

COURSE

TITLE

LEC. 
HRS.
LAB.
HRS.
CRS.
CRE.

SDV 100

College Success Skills

1

0

1

ENG 111

College Composition I

3

0

3

______1

Laboratory Science I

3

3

4

MTH 173

Calculus with Analytic Geometry I

5

0

5

CSC 201

Computer Science I

4

0

4

TOTAL

16

3

17

ENG 112

College Composition II

3

0

3

______2

Personal Wellness Elective

0-1

0-2

1

______1

Laboratory Science II

3

3

4

MTH 174

Calculus with Analytic Geometry II

5

0

5

CSC 202

Computer Science II

4

0

4

TOTAL

15-16

3-5

17

CSC 208

Introduction to Discrete Structures

3

0

3

CSC 205

Computer Organization

4

0

4

HIS 101 
or 
HIS 121

History of Western Civilization I or 
United States History I

3

0

3

______2

Humanities/Fine Arts Elective

3

0

3

TOTAL

13

0

13

______3

Approved Mathematics, Laboratory Science,
or Computer Science Elective

3-5 0

3-5

______3

Approved Elective

3

0

3

HIS 102 
or 
HIS 122

History of Western Civilization II or 
United States History II

3

0

3

______2

Humanities/Fine Arts Elective

3

0

3

______2

Social/Behavioral Science Elective

3

0

3

TOTAL

15-17

0

15-17

Total Minimum Credits for AS Degree in Science, Computer Science Specialization 62

01.28.16

1 Selection of lab science depends upon the transfer institution selected. Students should consult their advisor for appropriate courses.  Approved Laboratory Science I and II should be a year-long laboratory science, e.g., BIO 101-102 and CHM 111-112.

2 A list of approved general education electives (humanities/fine arts, social/behavioral sciences, mathematics, science, and personal wellness) is provided in the General Education section of the catalog under Curriculum Planning and Design.

3 Students must see their advisor for appropriate courses.  Students transferring to VCU should consider taking CSC 295 - Introduction to the Theory of Computations this semester.

 

CURRICULUM:
Mathematics Specialization

COURSE

TITLE

LEC. 
HRS.

LAB.
HRS.

CRS.
CRE.

SDV 100

College Success Skills

1

0

1

ENG 111

College Composition I

3

0

3

______1,7

Approved Laboratory Science I

3

3

4

MTH 1732

Calculus with 
Analytic Geometry I

5

0

5

CSC___3

Computer Science Elective

3-4

0

3-4

TOTAL

15-17

3

16-18

ENG 112

College Composition II

3

0

3

______1,7

Approved Laboratory Science II

3

3

4

MTH 174

Calculus with Analytic Geometry II

5

0

5

______4

Approved Elective

3-4

0-3

3-4

TOTAL

14-16

3-6

15-17

MTH 277

Vector Calculus

4

0

4

MTH 2405

Statistics

3

0

3

HIS 101 
or 
HIS 121

History of Western Civilization I or 
United States History I

3

0

3

______1

Social/Behavioral Science Elective

3

0

3

______1

Humanities/Fine Arts Elective

3

0

3

TOTAL

16

0

16

______6

Approved Mathematics, Laboratory Science,

or Computer Science Elective

3-5

0-3

3-5

MTH 287

Mathematical Structures

3

0

3

______1

Personal Wellness Elective

0-1

0-2

1

HIS 102 
or 
HIS 122

History of Western Civilization II or 
United States History II

3

0

3

______1

Humanities/Fine Arts Elective

3

0

3

TOTAL

12-15

0-5

13-15

Total Minimum Credits for AS Degree in Science, Mathematics Specialization 60


01.28.16

1 A list of approved general education electives (humanities/fine arts, social/behavioral sciences, mathematics, science, and personal wellness) is provided in the General Education section of the catalog under Curriculum Planning and Design.

2 Students not prepared for MTH 173 may be required to take 
MTH 166 prior to taking MTH 173. MTH 166 does not meet the graduation requirements for the Mathematics Specialization.

3 Students may take CSC 201 or another CSC programming course.

4 Approved electives include CSC 202, CSC 205, MTH 285, or another course approved by the student’s advisor.

5 MTH 240 transfers as an elective for students majoring in mathematics at Virginia Tech and the University of Virginia. At VCU, MTH 240 transfers for a mathematics major if the student takes an additional upper-level statistics course at VCU; in this case, the student will receive credit for both MTH 240 and the upper-level statistics course.

6 It is expected that most students intending to major in mathematics will take MTH 279, Ordinary Differential Equations, for this elective. For additional elective options, students should consult the list of approved electives in the General Education section of the catalog under Curriculum Planning and Design.

7 Approved Laboratory Science I and II should be a year-long laboratory science, e.g., BIO 101-102 and PHY 201-202.

 

CURRICULUM:
Mathematics and Science Teacher Preparation

COURSE

TITLE

LEC.
HRS.

LAB.
HRS.

CRS.
CRE.

SDV 101

Orientation to Teacher Preparation

2

0

2

ENG 111

College Composition I

3

0

3

______1,4

Approved Laboratory Science I

3

3

4

MTH 166 
or 
MTH 173
2

Precalculus with Trigonometry or Calculus with Analytic Geometry I

5

0

5

CSC ___

Computer Science Elective

3-4

0

3-4

TOTAL

16-17

3

17-18

ENG 112

College Composition II

3

0

3

______1,4

Approved Laboratory Science II

3

3

4

MTH 240
or 
MTH 270
or 
MTH 173 
or 
MTH 174
2

Statistics
or 
Applied Calculus
or
Calculus with Analytic Geometry I
or
Calculus with Analytic Geometry II

3-5

0

3-5

______1,4

Any 200-Level English Literature Course or Approved Humanities/Fine Arts Elective

3

0

3

______1,4

Personal Wellness Elective

0-1

0-2

1

TOTAL

12-15

3-5

14-16

______1,3

Approved Mathematics, Laboratory Science,
or Computer Science Elective

3-5

0-3

3-5

______1,3

Approved Laboratory Science I

3

3

4

HIS 101 
or 
HIS 121

History of Western Civilization I or United States History I

3

0

3

EDU 200

Introduction to Teaching as a Profession

2

2

3

TOTAL

11-13

5-8

13-15

______1,3

Approved Mathematics or Laboratory Science Elective

3-5

0-3

3-5

______1,3

Approved Laboratory Science II

3

3

4

HIS 102 
or 
HIS 122

History of Western Civilization II or United States History II

3

0

3

______1,4

Humanities/Fine Arts Elective

3

0

3

______1,4

Social/Behavioral Science Elective

3

0

3

TOTAL

15-17

3-6

16-18

Total Minimum Credits for AS Degree in Science – Mathematics and Science Teacher Preparation Specialization 60

06.22.16

1 A list of approved general education electives (humanities/fine arts, social/behavioral sciences, mathematics, science, and personal wellness) is provided in the General Education section of the catalog under Curriculum Planning and Design.

2 MTH 173-174 are recommended for students planning to major in Physics or Chemistry. Students not prepared for MTH 173 may be required to take MTH 166 prior to taking MTH 173.

3 Students completing the Mathematics and Science Teacher Preparation Specialization with the intention of being a science teacher must check with their transfer institution to determine the appropriate elective. Students completing the Teacher Preparation Specialization in Mathematics and Science with the intention of being a mathematics teacher are strongly encouraged to contact their transfer institution to determine the appropriate elective.

 4 Students should consult with their advisor and transfer institution to determine the best choice for their program.

Name Program Email Phone
Janet Adams Science AS jadams@reynolds.edu 523-5255
Brian Dunn Science AS bdunn@reynolds.edu 523-5258
Chris Holman Science AS cholman@reynolds.edu 523-5103
Jerrod Hunter Science AS jhunter@reynolds.edu 523-5096
Linda Lawrence Science AS llawrence@reynolds.edu 523-5595
Karen Layou Science AS klayou@reynolds.edu 523-5591
William Mott Science AS wmott@reynolds.edu 523-5750
Karen Neal Science AS kneal@reynolds.edu 523-5180
Deborah Neely-Fisher Science AS dneely-fisher@reynolds.edu 523-5741
John Ochab Science AS jochab@reynolds.edu 523-5312
Ramzi Ockaili Science AS rackaili@reynolds.edu 523-5742
Bryan Rhodes Science AS brhodes@reynolds.edu 523-5624
Sevag Sinanian Science AS ssinanian@reynolds.edu 523-5225
Ann Sullivan Science AS asullivan@reynolds.edu 523-5777
Shalini Upadhyaya Science AS supadhyaya@reynolds.edu 523-5315
Otelia Vines Science AS ovines@reynolds.edu 523-5184
Lawrence Wright Science AS lnwright@reynolds.edu 523-5780
Dannette Young Science AS dyoung@reynolds.edu 523-5038
Taurus Satterwhite Science - Computer Science Spec AS tsatterwhite@reynolds.edu 523-5509
Deborah Mathews Science - Computer Science Spec AS dmathews@reynolds.edu 523-5509
Theodore Adams Science - Mathematics Spec AS tadams@reynolds.edu 523-5511
Kay Brooks Science - Mathematics Spec AS kbrooks@reynolds.edu 523-5502
Chris Fulakis Science - Mathematics Spec AS cfulakis@reynolds.edu 523-5512
Kim Hasley Science - Mathematics Spec AS khasley@reynolds.edu 523-5250
Ruth Henley Science - Mathematics Spec AS rhenley@reynolds.edu 523-5522
Randolph Joe Science - Mathematics Spec AS rjoe@reynolds.edu 523-5784
Faith John Science - Mathematics Spec AS fjohn@reynolds.edu 523-5313
Bernadette Kocyba Science - Mathematics Spec AS bkocyba@reynolds.edu 523-5508
Pamela Lamb Science - Mathematics Spec AS plamb@reynolds.edu 523-5505
Richard Lampe Science - Mathematics Spec AS rlampe@reynolds.edu 523-5080
Ann Loving Science - Mathematics Spec AS aloving@reynolds.edu 523-5783
Sunita Luthar Science - Mathematics Spec AS sluthar@reynolds.edu 523-5702
Marquita Sea Science - Mathematics Spec AS msea@reynolds.edu 523-5506
Michele Snell Science - Mathematics Spec AS msnell@reynolds.edu 523-5510
Kathryn Swadgelo Science - Mathematics Spec AS kswadgelo@reynolds.edu 523-5788
Clifton Webb Science - Mathematics Spec AS cwebb@reynolds.edu 523-5036
Patricia Weisbrod Science - Mathematics Spec AS pweisbrod@reynolds.edu 523-5523
James Wolfle Science - Mathematics Spec AS jwolfle@reynolds.edu 523-5530
Julia Woodbury Science - Mathematics Spec AS jwoodbury@reynolds.edu 523-5513
Richard Groover Science - Teacher Prep Spec AS rgroover@reynolds.edu 523-5594
Shalini Upadhyaya Science - Teacher Prep Spec AS supadhyaya@reynolds.edu 523-5315
©